Smokin’ Crack

There are few things in this world that will make me cringe, or just plain angry. When I’m at work, however, and some fat ugly guy (not even a good looking one, damnit!) is pants down in the hallway making out with his girlfriend (who was surprisingly pretty. I suggested she raise her standards.) and she keeps saying no, that will just piss me right the hell off.

I think someone was smokin’ crack, and I don’t believe it was me.

 Well, that was fun. I’m glad that’s out of my system.

Now! Since it’s a new blog, I might as well start the tradition of talking about something important. Knitting, knitting is important, it makes me feel like I can accomplish something, and it makes me sit down and take the time to reflect on  the happenings on the day.

Once I’m done reflecting, it makes me rip out all of the mistakes I’ve done throughout the pattern, and start over, this time focused. knowing that nothing will stop me from learning to create beautiful works of art. Socks, a shawl, a skirt (I have enough of my own, mostly I try to make these sorts of things for other people), and sometimes I even try to make a sweater.

Then I realize that the cat has been playing with the skein of yarn. I’ve been too focused on my knitting to realize that she’s make a gigantic nest out of my precious lace-weight mohair that I’m trying to design a shawl out of. After batting her away from the mohair disaster, and spending 3 1/2 hours getting all of the frightened little inches of thread back into their rightfull order, I look back at the needles. Horrified, I look back to the needles. They aren’t there. my knitting is there, all 5 inches of the lace is there, but the needles are gone. I looked around, nearly in tears by now because obviously some force is trying to tell me that this project hates me. I see the needles, being dragged through the living room by Zeena.

For those of you who don’t know, Zeena is a ferret. Her brother, Silver is obviously the lazy enabler, because he’s got his head poking out from underneath the couch and he’s shaking with excitement as the prize of two size 0 14 inch straights are being hefted from my knitting. I wrestled for 20 minutes with Zeena to get back my needles.

 Never a dull moment, I tell you. Though I must say, that even with all of the happeneings at my house, it’s a wonder that I haven’t gotten much knitting done.

 Now is when I curl into the fetal position, cry as a child in the womb who was just punched by a deligerent drunk would cry, and go to work. It’s going to be a great night.

And I was correct! I found this —> http://www.cmdr-fire.co.uk/haddock.html. Already, I’m sort of feeling like a saucy Tramp for sharing it! (it’s on the list of insults. 😛 )

Well, it’s off to be some stuff done. And I do mean DONE!

Leave a Reply

